P1i – Gmail Settings


On subscribing AT&T’s mediaNet service, I scoured the web for a list of settings to set up my gmail account on my P1i. After unsuccessful attempts to have a working setup using the settings posted on several sites, I eventually worked them out. For the benefit of the P1i owners, here’s the list of settings that works….

connection type: IMAP
Push email: Check
Incoming server address: imap.gmail.com
username:
password:
download restrictions: just headers

outgoing server address: smtp.gmail.com
use SMTP authentication: check
use inbox login details: check

Advanced:

Incoming
Secure connection: SSL
Incoming mail port: 993

Outgoing
Secure connection: TLS
Outgoing mail port: 25

Use MIME encoding: Check
p1i

The Lost Symbol – A review


Before doling out cash to buy Dan Brown’s latest novel “The lost symbol”, I figured I’d give the reviews a glance. So, I looked it up on Amazon and after reading a handful of reviews, I came across this review……

“Dear Dan Brown:
Six years of waiting for this? Really! Here’s what I think happened…you had a contract to get a new novel out this year but you spent the last 5 1/2 years enjoying yourself with all the money you made…okay, you earned it…enjoy! But wait, now you have to hustle and get a novel to the publisher. No problem, you think as you take out the outline for the previous books. Instead of the grail, you’ll make it some “Lost Symbol” mainly because you’re at a loss as to how you’re going to meet that deadline. For the female role, you’ll turn her into a scientist in some unknown field. Just so you can have another female star in the movie, you’ll throw in a CIA agent. Instead of the crazy priest, you’ll make that role just a plain psycho that another Hollywood hunk can play. You’ll go through the motions but this time Langford won’t be as sharp as before which makes sense because you aren’t either. Instead of the Catholic church, you’ll use the Masons because you can Google Masons and get all kinds of alleged secrets and mysteries as you sit by the pool and sip on some expensive scotch. You’ll use Washington DC because, like the Masons, it’s easy to Google and maybe you’ve seen National Treasure. Okay, that takes care of the first 2/3 of the book. You’re almost there and you can see the money rolling in so you just wrap up the whole package with your optimism and hope that you can pull it off. Well, congratulations. It worked and I was amoung the million that were suckered on the 15th. I give you one star for the book and one star for the balls. I hope you enjoy my money but, Mr. Brown, please know that I don’t believe you earned it and I don’t think even you do. Really.
Signed,
Disappointed”

Despite such reviews, I intend to read this darned book but instead of looking for it in the book store, I’ll be watching for it in the local library.